On March 1st, 2012, Google’s new privacy policies all got combined into one huge policy. What does the new policy mean? To sum it up, Google states that they will share the data that it stores for you with all of Google’s services. The good news is they have stated that they won’t be sharing it with parties outside of Google.
Google has been adamant these changes are only being made to make their products better than ever and display even more relevant content and advertising to each personal user.
Even if you turn tracking off with Google, they will still be tracking your web activity – they just won’t be using that information with your Google account. Your searches will still be followed and stored by Google – even if you’re not signed in. The information can still be used to build a profile about you and will allow Google to sell ads that are specifically tailored to you.
Alma Whitten, Google’s Director of Privacy, wrote in a blog post recently:
“As you use our products one thing will be clear: it’s the same Google experience that you’re used to, with the same controls, and because we’re making these changes, over time we’ll be able to improve our products in ways that help our users get the most from the web.”
Alma outlined out 3 important points to keep in mind regarding these changes.
- Google’s privacy controls aren’t changing.